Welcome

TKU President's Greetings

Tamkang University (TKU) was founded in 1950. Adhering to the Triple objectives of Globalization, Information-oriented education, and Future-oriented education promoted by the Founder Dr. Clement C. P. Chang; undergoing three periods of development: "The Foundational Period," "The Positioning Period," and "The Uplifting Period," and “Transformational Period,” Tamkang University was further formulated into one comprehensive university with the integrations of Tamsui, Taipei, Lanyang, and Cyber campuses. In November of 2017, the Hsu Shou-Chlien International Conference Center was inaugurated under the donations of former TKU alumni; this continues the excellent heritage of Tamkang culture. With the quick infusion of new power, the new course of development of the Fifth Wave “The Transcending Period” was launched. Moreover, the Fifth Wave of Tamkang takes "Creation of a Great Tamsui; Embracing a Smart Future" as its mid-range vision.

As for the aspect of planning the teachers' teaching and the curriculum, Tamkang University has upheld the concept of "the learner is the center." From the first mile of incoming new students to the last mile of the graduating seniors, and to the first mile of facing job employment or starting a business, all require different stages of learning demands, and TKU has created a comprehensive learning plan and built a "student learning value chain" for students in their four undergraduate years. As for the aspect of students’ learning, Tamkang adopts the "Three Circles Curricula": Professional curriculum, General curriculum, and Extracurricular curriculum, and also honors program, cross-field courses, employment programs, and capstone courses as auxiliaries. TKU has not only achieved the effectiveness of intensive professionalism, learning application and advancement, and unified learning, but also has been able to deepen the five Educational Disciplines of "Conduct, Intelligence, Physical Education, Teamwork, and Beauty" to foster in students the possession of the eight essential qualities of “Global perspective, Informational literacy, Vision for the future, Moral integrity, Independent thinking, Cheerful attitude and healthy lifestyle, Spirit of teamwork and dedication, and the Sense of aesthetic appreciation,” to become an outstanding Tamkang graduate.

Tamkang established an international partner institution relationship with the Chuo University of Japan in 1968, it has now signed an academic cooperation agreement with 232 universities in 38 countries on five continents. In 1994, the first international mobility program for domestic juniors to study abroad was established. Each year, juniors are selected to study at overseas partner institutions, and as of 2019, 8,250 students had completed their dream of studying abroad. In 2015, Tamkang earned the Outstanding Internationalization Award from the Ministry of Education and thus becoming a model school for internationalization.

Tamkang has performed well in various world university rankings and Asian university ranking surveys, including THE, QS, and US News & World Report, ranking No. 19-22 in the nation, surpassing 2/3 of national universities. The "World University Network Ranking" published in January 2020, the university ranked No. 878th worldwide, ranked No. 175th in the Asia region, ranked No. 10th in the country, and ranked No. 1 consecutively in the domestic private universities. In the results of the school evaluation of the colleges and universities, the second period of the 2018 academic year, under the four categories of school governance and management, school resources and supporting system, school effectiveness, and self-improvement and sustainable development, Tamkang passed all. In 2020, "Global Views Monthly" magazine's "Taiwan's Best University Rankings", the school is ranked first in the "Literary Arts, Law, and Business" private school, ranking No. 3 in the country and exceeded many national universities, and is also ranked No. 1 in the "Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs Contribution) Level."

The Triple Objectives of Globalization, Information-Oriented Education, and Future-Oriented Education were continuously cultivated as Tamkang steps into the fifth wave. In 2018, the “Tamkang Clement and Carrie Chair” was established with the hope of being able to promote more internationally renowned scholars to conduct lectures, to engage in intensive lectures series, and to do cooperative research thus promoting Tamkang’s position on the stage of the global village. As of 2020, the Tamkang Clement and Carrie Chair Fund successfully invited 17 internationally renowned scholars from 9 different countries including United States, Canada, France, Austria, Poland, Korea, Japan, Thailand, and Singapore; among them, seven scholars possess national academician qualifications. This gradually accomplishes the purpose of the formation of the Tamkang Clement and Carrie Chair, achieving the founder’s vision of creating a world-class University. As for the Information-Oriented Education, Tamkang takes “intellect” as its core spirit, implements a digital transformation, creates a smart campus 2.0, utilizes the new concepts of smart technology and service designs including; the big data, artificial intelligence, mobile computing, cloud computing, and internet of things. Inaugurated in the 2020 academic year as a virtual operational hub in Tamkang University, the College of Artificial Innovative Intelligence (AII) integrates the resources of academic units on campus, promotes interdisciplinary teaching and research, strengthens the industry-academia cooperation, and combines with USR to implement the concept of local revitalization effectively, adapting to highly qualified industries, reducing learning gaps, and cultivating students’ employability in the AI cloud era. Future-Oriented Education is located in having the characteristic of social responsibility in the diversity of “Collaborative Foresight” as this continues to refine future studies courses, upgrading teaching instructions in order to strengthen the clear understanding of students in their Future-Oriented Education and competency development.

Tamkang promoted TQM since 1992 won The 19th National Quality Award in 2009. The Chairperson of Tamkang University, Dr. Flora Chia-I Chang, won the Business Excellence Award of the 25th National Quality Award in 2018. Tamkang was the first university worldwide to confer the International Safe School status by the World Health Organization (WHO) on November 18th, 2008. In 2012, Tamkang was once again issued the International Safe School Status after passing the WHO Safe School Re-evaluation. From 2011 till 2013, Tamkang continuously received the R.O.C. Enterprises Environmental Award and received the life-time prestigious EPA Environmental Award. The quality of running a university has been affirmed by various fields.

The immediate strength of more than 270,000 graduates in different industries allowed Tamkang University ranking No. 1, in 2020, among all private universities for 23 consecutive years in the "Top 2,000 Enterprises' Favorite College Graduates" survey conducted by Cheers Business Magazine, and No. 8 among all institutes of higher education in Taiwan. In the proportion of the survey’s nine main categories, among private universities, Tamkang ranked No. 1 in eight out of the nine categories. In the same year, the 104 Human Resources Center announced the "Rankings of Most Frequently Hired Universities by Enterprises," our University graduates won the first place in the "Software and Internet Industry" and the "Financial Industry." Tamkang is ecstatic to have such outstanding performance, yet this urges us to double our efforts in the future to add value to academic professionalism, strengthen teaching, enhance industry-academia cooperation, and establish a teaching ecosystem of innovative entrepreneurship. The Fifth Wave under the foundation of Tamkang Culture and the accomplishments of the Founder and other successive presidents, the outstanding achievements should again be carried on by building upon the initial successes and by taking the spirit of the old to create the new so as to erect a superb new look in the future of the university and march forward to be a first-rate, world-class comprehensive university.

Huan-Chao Keh
President of Tamkang

Profile

PRESENT STATUS
  • President Of TKU
  • Professor, Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering, TKU

EDUCATION
  • Ph.D., Department of Computer Science, Oregon State University, USA
  • M.S., Department of Computer Science, Oregon State University, USA
  • B.A., Department of Horticulture Science, National Chung Hsing University, Taiwan, ROC.

EXPERIENCE
  • The 10th Director of the College Entrance Examination Center (CECC)
  • The 18th Director of the Association of Private Universities and Colleges of the Republic of China
  • The 7th Director of the Foundation for International Cooperation in Higher Education of Taiwan (FICHET)
  • The 5th Director of Green University Union of Taiwan
  • The 3rd Supervisor of Taiwan Association for Institutional Research (TAIR)
  • The 9th Standing Committee Member of the Joint Board of College Recruitment Commission
  • Vice President for Academic Affairs, TKU
  • Dean of Academic Affairs, TKU
  • Chair of Department of Computer Science and Information Engineering, TKUDirector of Extracurricular Activities Guidance Section, TKU
  • Dean of Student Affairs, TKU
  • Section Chief of Extracurricular Activities Guidance Section, TKU

EXPERTISE
  • Data Mining
  • Internet of Things
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Clinical Medical Resource Management Information Systems
HONOR
  • The 24th Outstanding Alumni of National Chung Hsing University
  • Institute of Information & Computing Machinery K. T. Li Fellow Award (2021)

Photo Gallery

校長的話

淡江大學竭誠歡迎您造訪

淡江大學於1950年創校,秉持張創辦人建邦博士提倡的「國際化、資訊化、未來化」三化教育理念,歷經「奠基」、「定位」、「提升」與「轉變」四個波段的發展與建設,建構淡水、台北、蘭陽、網路四位一體的綜合校園,形成淡江穩定的根基。2017年11月由校友捐資興建的守謙國際會議中心啟用,延續優勢的淡江文化底蘊,注入瞬時新創動力,展開淡江第五波「超越」的校務新里程,並以「共創大淡水,智慧大未來」為淡江第五波校務發展的中程願景。

本校在教師教學與課程規劃方面,均秉持「學習者為中心」的思考,以學生學習加值為核心,從準新生的第一哩路到畢業生的最後一哩路,再到面對職場就業創業的第一哩路,依據不同階段之學習需求,為學生打造全方位學習計畫,建構大學四年之「學生學習加值鏈」。在學生學習方面,規劃專業、通識、課外活動的「三環」課程,並以榮譽學程、跨域課程、就業學程及頂石課程作輔助,不僅達到精進專業、學用並進、統整學習之效,更能深化「德、智、體、群、美」五育內涵,培育學生具備「全球視野、資訊運用、洞悉未來、品德倫理、獨立思考、樂活健康、團隊合作、美學涵養」八大基本素養,成為心靈卓越的淡江人。

本校自1968年與日本中央學院大學建立姊妹校開始,至今已陸續與世界五大洲38國232所大學簽訂學術合作協議。1994年首創國內「大三學生出國留學計畫」,每年甄選大三學生赴海外姊妹校研習。108學年度有573名學生赴21國108所學校留學,迄今已有8,250名學生完成出國進修的夢想。本校因具體落實校園國際化教育方針,而於2015年榮獲教育部「大專校院國際化品質視導特優獎」殊榮,評定為國際化典範學校。

淡江大學在各類世界大學排名及亞洲大學排名調查中表現優異,包括:THE、QS及US News & World Report,平均排名全國第19-22名,超越2/3以上國立大學。2020年1月公布的「世界大學網路排名」,本校於全球排名第878名,亞洲地區排名第175名,國內排名第10名並蟬聯私立大學第1名。107年度第二週期大學校院校務評鑑結果,本校在校務治理與經營、校務資源與支持系統、辦學成效、自我改善與永續發展等4個項目全數通過。2020年《遠見》雜誌「台灣最佳大學排行榜」,本校榮登「文法商類大學」私校第1名,全國第3名,優於許多國立大學,並且在「聯合國永續發展目標(SDGs)貢獻度」面向獲得私校第1名。

淡江邁入第五波,持續深耕國際化、資訊化及未來化三化特色,自2018年起設置「創辦人張建邦博士暨張姜文錙伉儷熊貓講座」,延攬多位國際大師蒞校講學、密集授課及合作研究,冀望再造淡江世界地球村的高峰。迄至2020年,有來自美國、加拿大、法國、奧地利、波蘭、韓國、日本、泰國及新加坡等9國17位講者,其中7位具備國家院士級資格,逐步實踐設置熊貓講座的理念,達到創辦人建設世界級大學的興學願景。資訊化部分,以「智慧」為核心精神,落實數位轉型,打造智慧校園2.0,運用大智行雲網(大數據、人工智慧、行動計算、雲端運用、物聯網)智慧科技與服務設計的新思維。109學年度成立「AI創智學院」,以此虛擬學院做為運作平台,整合校內學術單位資源,推動跨領域教學與研究,強化產學媒合及結合USR有效落實地方創生的理念,並與產業優質接軌,減少學用落差,提升學生在AI與雲端時代的就業能力。未來化的教育理念則定位為具有社會責任特色的多元「共創遠見」(Collaborative Foresight),持續精進未來學課程,提升教師授課知能,以強化學生洞悉未來素養及職能養成。

本校自1992年起推行全面品質管理制度,2009年獲得第19屆國家品質獎團體機構獎項及2018年張家宜董事長獲得第25屆國家品質獎卓越經營個人獎獎項。此外,本校於2008年及2012年分別通過世界衛生組織 (WHO)國際安全學校認證及再認證,成為全世界第1所獲得「國際安全學校」認證的大學。2011、2012、2013年連續三度榮獲「中華民國企業環保獎」,並獲頒「榮譽企業環保獎」的終身成就獎,顯示辦學品質受到各界肯定。

逾27萬各領域的校友在職場上的即戰實力,讓淡江大學在2020年《Cheers》雜誌「2000大企業最愛大學生」調查中,連續23年榮獲私立大學第1名,全國總排名第10名,在調查的9大能力指標評比中,有8項指標排名私校之冠。同年在104人力銀行公布「企業最常雇用大學排行榜」,本校畢業生榮獲「軟體及網路業」及「金融業」第1名。本校欣喜能有如此優異的表現,但也激勵我們未來要加倍努力,為學術專業加值,加強教學、產學合作,建構創新創業的教學生態系統,淡江第五波將在淡江文化的根基之下,從永續創辦人及歷任校長所成就的良好辦學績效再出發,發揮承先啟後、承舊啟新的精神,以建立優質未來大學新風貌,朝向世界一流精緻卓越的綜合大學邁進。

個人簡歷

現職
  • 淡江大學校長
  • 淡江大學資訊工程學系教授

學歷
  • 美國奧勒崗州立大學資訊科學學系博士
  • 美國奧勒崗州立大學資訊科學學系碩士
  • 國立中興大學園藝科學學系學士

經歷
  • 財團法人大學入學考試中心基金會第10屆董事
  • 社團法人中華民國私立大學校院協進會第17屆理事
  • 財團法人高等教育國際合作基金會第7屆董事
  • 臺灣綠色大學聯盟第4屆監事
  • 臺灣校務研究專業協會第3屆監事
  • 大學招生委員會聯合會第9屆常務委員
  • 淡江大學學術副校長
  • 淡江大學教務長
  • 淡江大學資訊工程學系系主任
  • 淡江大學學務長
  • 淡江大學課外活動指導組組長

專長
  • 資料探勘
  • 物聯網
  • 人工智慧
  • 臨床醫學資訊系統
榮譽
  • 國立中興大學第24屆傑出校友

活動花絮